About

12719299 753465594789104 5766303385270252026 O

The first coffee table book on all the French Southern and Antarctic Territories (FSAT)

Award 2016 : The book "Stopover on edge of the world" was awarded the Alexandre de la Roquette (1870) of Geographical French Society for the year 2016.

Authors : Stéphanie LÉGERON (oceindia@icloud.com) and Bruno MARIE (insularis@me.com)
Éditor : Insulae éditions, La Réunion - Mail : oceindia@icloud.com
Preface : Nicolas Hulot

Complete presentation (english pdf file) :
http://seaview.photodeck.com/en/-/galleries/escales-au-bout-du-monde-le-livre

Size : 250 mm x 280 mm ht - 448 color pages - Hard cover - ISBN : 979-10-95-523-10-9 - Release date : january 2016 - Price : 45,00 euros

Think you know France ? All of France, including its overseas? Don't be so sure ! Exclusive, beautiful 448-page book prefaced by Nicolas Hulot finally unveils the most extreme French lands. FSAT ! A huge maritime area (more than the quarter of waters under French jurisdiction), the largest French nature reserve, extraordinary islands, be they tropical, subtropical, subantarctic, and even a portion of the Antarctic continent that stretches to the South Pole !

Located off the beaten tracks, the FSAT belong to the last almost original sanctuaries of the planet. They consist of islands dispersed in the Indian Ocean - Scattered Islands, Crozet and Kerguelen archipelagos, Saint-Paul and Amsterdam Islands - and of Adelia Land, in Antarctica. Those natural treasures are part of internationally recognized lands of science. In the FSAT's isolated territories, France provides a continuous presence, through technical and scientific bases, or small military camps. Among difficult exploration attempts, seal industry or multiple shipwrecks in the southern seas, the FSAT also contain hidden gems of our own history...

Stopovers on the edge of the world is the fruit of two years of work and long reports throughout the FSAT. It is the first ever coffee table book dedicated to those remote overseas. Travel story, historical summaries, more than 1,200 photos, 30 detailed maps, 65 stories, 48 sheets on wild fauna and flora... Go and explore without delay our last hidden heritage, and you will embark on a out of the ordinary journey…

Guestbook / Join us on Facebook / Our Blog / Join us on Twitter

Order the book (in french) on the web sites FNAC ou AMAZON...

Prohibited reproduction in whole or part (texts and photographies) - Texts : © Insulae éditions 2016 - Photographies : © Bruno MARIE 2016

Powered by PhotoDeck

Info

12719299 753465594789104 5766303385270252026 O

Le premier beau livre sur l'ensemble des Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises (TAAF)

Distinction 2016 : Le livre "Escales au bout du monde" a reçu le prix Alexandre de la Roquette (1870) de la Société de Géographie pour l'année 2016.

Auteurs : Stéphanie LÉGERON (oceindia@icloud.com) et Bruno MARIE (insularis@me.com)
Éditeur : Insulae éditions, La Réunion - Mail : oceindia@icloud.com
Préface : Nicolas Hulot

Dossier complet (au format pdf) :
http://seaview.photodeck.com/-/galleries/escales-au-bout-du-monde-le-livre

Format fermé : 250 mm x 280 mm ht - 448 pages couleurs - Couverture rigide - ISBN : 979-10-95-523-10-9 - Date de parution : janvier 2016 - Prix public TTC : 45,00 euros

Vous pensiez connaître la France ? Toute la France, y compris ses outre-mer ? Pas si sûr ! En exclusivité, ce beau livre de 448 pages préfacé par Nicolas Hulot vous dévoile enfin les terres françaises les plus extrêmes. Les TAAF ! Un domaine maritime immense (plus du quart des eaux sous juridiction françaises), notre plus grande réserve naturelle, des îles extraordinaires, qu’elles soient tropicales, subtropicales, subantarctiques, et même une portion du continent antarctique qui s’étend jusqu’au pôle Sud ! 

Aux antipodes des sentiers battus, les TAAF appartiennent aux derniers sanctuaires quasi originels de la planète. Elles se composent d’îles et archipels disséminés dans l’océan Indien – îles Éparses, archipels de Crozet, de Kerguelen, îles Saint-Paul et Amsterdam – et de la Terre Adélie, sur le continent antarctique. Autant de trésors naturels érigés en terres de science reconnues mondialement. Des territoires isolés où la France assure une présence continue, à travers des bases techniques et scientifiques, ou de petits camps militaires. Entre difficiles tentatives d’exploration, industrie phoquière et naufrages multiples dans les mers australes, les TAAF renferment également des fragments méconnus de notre histoire…  

Fruit de deux années de travail et de longs reportages dans les TAAF, Escales au bout du monde est le premier beau livre présentant l’ensemble de cette collectivité d’outre-mer. Récit de voyage comme fil conducteur, synthèses historiques, plus de 1 200 photos, 30 cartes détaillées, 65 témoignages, 48 fiches sur la faune et la flore… Partez sans tarder à la découverte de notre dernier patrimoine caché, et vous embarquerez pour un voyage hors du commun…

Ce que les lecteurs en disent / Nous suivre sur Facebook / Notre Blog / Nous suivre sur Twitter

Commander le livre chez votre libraire (ISBN : 979-10-95-52310-9) ou sur les sites FNAC ou AMAZON...

Reproduction interdite en toute ou partie (textes et photographies) - Textes : © Insulae éditions 2016 - Photographies : © Bruno MARIE 2016

Propulsé par PhotoDeck